Posted by: jgurner | July 8, 2013

Reassessing a Fundamental, Long-Held Belief

During our lives, we form opinions, embrace belief systems and look for those things to hold onto that we feel are truths, or are at least truths as we see them and that fit into our ever-evolving worldview.

Sometimes, these things are handed to us and we never take the time to really question them. Sometimes, we question a particular belief – study it, examine our feelings about it and its impact on us – and we find sometimes it might strengthen our belief, but it also may cause us to alter or even abandoned something we have always held to be true.

I constantly re-examine those things that I hold to be true. Not just to question whether or not I still hold such a belief, but to also learn more about what that belief is and who I am. I constantly learn from these examinations. I believe they make me a better person, more at ease with myself and better educated.

However, sometimes, I find somethings I’m not as willing to examine as closely. Truths I’ve grasped on to and am loathe to examine because I might find they were not as “true” as I had once convinced myself.

I came to one of those truths in college. College for most is a time for exploration and change. A time to examine who you are, who you were and who you will become.

While in college, I embraced a belief that I now fully acknowledge was wrong. A belief that was so fundamental and so contrary to most of those around me, my friends, my co-workers – even some of those I loved – that it in some way isolated me. Over the years I believe this belief has built somewhat of a wall between myself and some others. It’s something that comes up in conversations with friends sometimes, but mostly it’s the elephant in the room no one wants to talk about.

Since I made this decision, in my early 20s, I have stuck by it. I have argued my belief unendingly since, but, always, in the back of my mind, I knew I was wrong, but I was to proud, or too stubborn to admit it. As I have grown, both in age and, hopefully, wisdom, I have finally come to the point where I can admit I was wrong.

Star Trek V is not a good movie. I hereby renounce the review I wrote about it and admit I was wrong. Though it has a few and far-between positives, it is fundamentally flawed to the point – story, script, acting, effects – that nothing can redeem it.

Whew!

There. I said it. I feel much better about myself. I feel as if a weight has been lifted from my shoulders.

Responses

  1. Every man hides a secret pain. You shared yours, and gained strength from the sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

