Posted by: jgurner | March 31, 2010

Godzilla Rides Again

It frightens me a little, but I have to say I’m intrigued by the announcement that 2012 will see the return of Godzilla.

I have no idea if this is any way connected with the fact that the world is supposed to end that same year, but what cooler way could there be for the world to be destroyed than by Godzilla. Maybe a supercollider-produced black hole would be a close second.

Anyway…

It’s no secret that I’m a huge Godzilla fan. I’ve loved the movies since I was a kid. Once or twice a year one of the local channels would do an all night Godzilla movie marathon and I’d stay up as late as I could manage to watch. And I’ve never been too picky about how good or bad the movies were. The lousy ones, like Son of Godzilla, are just as much fun as the original Gorjira or the movies like The Final Wars that were produced in recent years.

Sadly, though, the Godzilla franchise has been silent since 2004. And maybe enough time has passed to make it a good idea to breathe life into the series again.

Now, here’s the part that frightens me. This new Godzilla is being done by an American movie studio. We can only hope that a restraining order has been issued to keep Roland Emmerich as far away as possible. And, to be fair, my biggest gripe with the 1998 fiasco was not that it starred Matthew Broderick in a role he had no business being in. Or that Jean Reno must have been desperate for a paycheck. Or that it basically became a car chase movie. Or that you were supposed to believe that red-head chick from News Radio was a scientist. Or…

Well, you get the idea.

No, my biggest gripe was they used a giant iguana instead of Godzilla. Everyone knows what Godzilla looks like. Hell, I have probably a dozen plastic Godzillas at home. I had one of the Godzilla Shogun Warriors when I was a kid. Godzilla is iconic. He’s supposed to look like, well Godzilla. (BTW, one of the most amusing parts of Godzilla: Final Wars is when the real Godzilla kills the fake American version.)

The producers of the new film say they are going to be true to the original Godzilla. But, Hollywood being what Hollywood is, who knows what that means. I don’t necessarily have a problem with Godzilla stomping around on American soil. Just as long as its really Godzilla. And would it really hurt to throw in a Japanese kid who is pals with a giant robot?

So, now 2012 is slated to bring the new Star Trek movie and a new Godzilla movie. If both turn out to be good, then I wont mind so much if the world ends.

Leave a Reply

Categories

