Posted by: jgurner | March 30, 2010

Buying the Virtual Farm

As much as I loath to admit it, I am addicted to Farmville.

For those who may not know, Farmville is a game you play on Facebook where you control a virtual farm. You raise crops, plant trees, tend to farm animals. You can even build houses and a village, landscape, plant flowers and all sorts of stuff.

For the life of me, I can’t figure out why I’m so addicted to this stupid little game. I mean, if it’s farming I want, I can step outside my door and do all I can handle. Between my yard and gardens and my mom’s yard and gardens, there’s actually too much for one person to do. Even now I have a bed I need to start getting ready.

So what the hell’s the appeal?

I think part of it is just a way to keep “busy” without really doing anything. You constantly have stuff to do – harvest crops, pick fruit, milk the cows, gather eggs, etc. But, if you decide to ignore your farm for a while, there are really no consequences. The crops you planted might wither, but everything else will be fine until you decide to play again.

Typically, I’m not a big fan of “sim” games. I loved Sim City, 20 years ago, but never really cared for anything that came after it like The Sims. I never got into Second Life or YoVille or any of the other online sim games. I guess I kind of feel like I need a life in the real world before I begin a mundane existence in the virtual one.

Whatever the reason, I guess I’ll keep playing until I get bored with it, which always tends to happen eventually with a video game. Except of course Ms. Pac-Man…

But that’s another story.

Leave a Reply

Categories

