Posted by: jgurner | March 29, 2010

Here we go again…

This is not my first attempt at a blog. Who knows if it will be my last.

For well over a decade, I had the privilege of writing a newspaper column which shares the name of this blog. The name came from a friend of mine in college who basically said my columns were just idle ramblings. I liked the name and kept it for almost 16 years in both college and “the real world.”

I’ve been away from the newspaper business for almost six years now and one of the few things I miss is having that space each week to put my thoughts down on “paper” and have them out there for the  public to peruse. Or not. Blogging isn’t quite the same, but it’s close enough, cause I’m sure not going back into the newspaper business.

But, more than anything, I realize I’ve missed writing.

For most of my life, I’ve written in one form or another. It ranged from different assignments in school and college, stories and columns for different publications I’ve worked for to stuff just for my entertainment. As much as I’ve always talked about it, however, I’ve never sat down to seriously “write.” I talk about writing a novel or working on this project or that project, but that’s all I tend to do – talk about it.

Part of the reason, I think, is not my own natural laziness, but more the fact that the more I think about doing some of the writing projects I have floating around in my head, the more I become overwhelmed and not sure that I could really handle it. Or, to be more accurate, I don’t know if I can keep my attention focused long enough on any one thing to really accomplish very much.

I’ve found that as life progresses, I tend to have a shorter attention span…

OOOH! Shiny object….

What was I saying?

Anyway, I’m feeling the urge to start anew. Writing just for my own pleasure. Putting my thoughts down in the form of electrons organized into ones and zeros (though putting my thoughts “on paper” sounds so much better).

I blame my friend David for this urge. He’s the one who got me interested in blogging in the first place, by answering the question “What the hell’s a blog?” all those years ago when he first told me about his blog. David currently has his own blog on this site, Stories in my Pocket. He’s also done one of the coolest things on the planet. He has co-written a book with an astronaut. How could it get any cooler than that?

David has plunged himself into writing, and he does it well. It’s his passion and his love for it can be infectious.

I’ve always loved to write as well, but, especially since I was a teenager, my passion has been split between writing and music. I labored under the delusion for more than a decade that in one way, shape or form, I would be able to make a career as a musician. Maybe I could have, but when the time came to make a choice – life on the road as a struggling musician or finishing up my degree – I chose the degree. After college, though, I put music aside as I began my journalism career in earnest. Its only after leaving the newspaper business, and the intervention of new technology, namely the GarageBand program for the Mac, that I plunged back into music.

But that’s another story.

At this particular point in time, the fire for making music has died down a bit and I’ve been feeling the urge to write again. It may not go any further than the occasional post to this blog. Or maybe I’ll be spurred into actually doing some of the things I’ve pondered, including a couple of non-fiction works and a number of novels. Who knows.

And, at this point, who cares. Right now I’m just going to see how this goes.

So here I go…

Responses

  1. Awesome, sir! ‘Bout damned time! Look forward to reading it! And thanks for the kind words.


Leave a Reply

Categories

